Exhibition on view

Robert Stadler
K+ Café im KWM
Collection Satellite #7
Kaiser Wilhelm Museum

From May 15th the Cafe will be open during the museum opening times.

Art and life, tradition and innovation merge in the Gesamtkunstwerk K+ Café im KWM, designed by the Austrian designer Robert Stadler (b. 1966 in Vienna, lives in Paris). As a café, site-specific design installation, and multifunctional space, it invites visitors to come together for coffee breaks, talks, screenings, and much more. Stadler has taken a new, surreal look at the history and identity of the Kunstmuseen Krefeld, as well as of Krefeld’s textile tradition. In close cooperation with craftsmen and industry, a coffee house interior was created that flexibly adapts to situations and drives new conversations and experiments in Krefeld. The project transports the founding principle of the museum as a public platform which encourages close connections between art, craft, and industry into the twenty-first century.

The K+ at KWM opens on April 2 and 3, on April 2 at 12 noon the weekend starts with the ceremonial opening by the Lord Mayor Frank Meyer.
The entire program of the opening weekend and more information about the new location at KWM can now be found here.

Robert Stadler (b. 1966 in Vienna, lives and works in Paris) studied design at the IED in Milan and the ENSCI in Paris. In 1992, he co-founded the Radi Designers group, which was active until 2008. The group realized limited editions as well as industrial design for Air France and Moulinex. With his studio, Stadler has worked since 2001 for clients such as Hermès, Thonet, and Vitra. He designed cafés for the Costes brothers in Paris and exhibitions at the Palais de Tokyo in Paris and the MUDAM in Luxembourg. Important solo exhibitions took place in 2017 at the Noguchi Museum in New York and at Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau in Dresden.

Since 2018 the Kunstmuseen Krefeld’s Collection Satellite series invites artists from various disciplines to engage in an innovative dialogue with the museum’s collections, its history, and the architecture of its three buildings: the Kaiser Wilhelm Museum, Haus Lange, and Haus Esters.

Robert Stadler, K+ Interior, 2022  
Kaiser Wilhelm Museum, Kunstmuseen Krefeld  
© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022, photo: Dirk Rose
Robert Stadler, K+ Interior, 2022
Kaiser Wilhelm Museum, Kunstmuseen Krefeld
© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022, photo: Dirk Rose
Robert Stadler, K+ Interior, 2022  
Kaiser Wilhelm Museum, Kunstmuseen Krefeld  
© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022, photo: Dirk Rose
Robert Stadler, K+ Interior, 2022
Kaiser Wilhelm Museum, Kunstmuseen Krefeld
© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022, photo: Dirk Rose
Robert Stadler, K+ Interior, 2022  
Kaiser Wilhelm Museum, Kunstmuseen Krefeld  
© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022, photo: Dirk Rose
Robert Stadler, K+ Interior, 2022
Kaiser Wilhelm Museum, Kunstmuseen Krefeld
© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022, photo: Dirk Rose

Exhibitions currently on view

Laufende ausstellung

Robert Stadler
K+ Café im KWM
Sammlungssatellit #7
Kaiser Wilhelm Museum

Ab 15. Mai 2022 ist das K+ Café im KWM zu den Öffnungszeiten des Museums geöffnet.

Kunst und Leben, Tradition und Innovation verschmelzen im Gesamtkunstwerk K+ Café im KWM, gestaltet von dem österreichischen Designer Robert Stadler (*1966, Wien, lebt in Paris). Als Café, ortspezifische Designinstallation und multifunktionaler Raum lädt es ein zu Kaffeepausen, Kommunikation, Kino und vielem mehr. Stadler hat einen neuen, surrealen Blick auf die Geschichte und Identität der Kunstmuseen Krefeld und die textile Tradition Krefelds geworfen. In enger Kooperation mit Handwerker*innen und Unternehmen entstand so ein Kaffeehaus-Interieur, das sich flexibel Situationen anpasst und neue Gespräche und Experimente in Krefeld antreibt. Das Projekt transportiert die Gründungsidee des Museums als Bürger*innen-Plattform und die enge Verbindung von Kunst, Handwerk und Industrie in das 21. Jahrhundert.

Robert Stadler (*1966, Wien, lebt und arbeitet in Paris) studierte Design an der IED/Mailand und an der ENSCI/Paris. Im Jahr 1992 war er Mitbegründer der Gruppe Radi Designers, die bis 2008 aktiv war. Die Gruppe realisierte limitierte Editionen genauso wie Industriedesign für Air France und Moulinex. Mit seinem Studio arbeitet Stadler seit 2001 für Kunden wie Hermès, Thonet und Vitra. Er gestaltete Cafés für die Gebrüder Costes in Paris und Ausstellungen im Palais de Tokyo, Paris sowie dem MUDAM Luxemburg. Wichtige Einzelausstellungen fanden 2017 im Noguchi Museum in New York sowie in der Kunsthalle im Lipsiusbau in Dresden statt.

Seit 2018 laden die Kunstmuseen mit der Projektreihe der Sammlungssatelliten Kunstschaffende aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen ein, sich mit der Sammlung, Museumsgeschichte und der Architektur der drei Häuser – Kaiser Wilhelm Museum, Haus Lange, Haus Esters – auseinanderzusetzen und sie auf neuartige Weise zu erschließen.

Robert Stadler, K+ Interieur, 2022  
Kaiser Wilhelm Museum, Kunstmuseen Krefeld  
© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022, Foto: Dirk Rose
Robert Stadler, K+ Interieur, 2022
Kaiser Wilhelm Museum, Kunstmuseen Krefeld
© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022, Foto: Dirk Rose
Robert Stadler, K+ Interieur, 2022  
Kaiser Wilhelm Museum, Kunstmuseen Krefeld  
© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022, Foto: Dirk Rose
Robert Stadler, K+ Interieur, 2022
Kaiser Wilhelm Museum, Kunstmuseen Krefeld
© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022, Foto: Dirk Rose
Robert Stadler, K+ Interieur, 2022  
Kaiser Wilhelm Museum, Kunstmuseen Krefeld  
© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022, Foto: Dirk Rose
Robert Stadler, K+ Interieur, 2022
Kaiser Wilhelm Museum, Kunstmuseen Krefeld
© VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2022, Foto: Dirk Rose

laufende Ausstellungen