Exhibition on view

Beuys & Duchamp
Artists of the Future EXTENDED
Kaiser Wilhelm Museum

The main exhibition in the anniversary year Beuys 2021 juxtaposes, for the first time, the work of Joseph Beuys (1921–1986) with that of the French-American object artist and pioneer of conceptual art Marcel Duchamp (1887–1968). Beuys repeatedly referred to the work of his “challenger” Duchamp, as in 1964 in the famous action The Silence of Marcel Duchamp is Overrated. Duchamp, the ironic skeptic, and Beuys, the society-changing visionary – although these charismatic artistic personalities shaped the art of the twentieth century as quasi antagonists, the references and connections between them reach much deeper and, despite all their differences, reveal a multitude of affinities. The forward-looking potential of their respec-tive radical and interdisciplinary strategies will be reexamined from a contemporary perspective. The dialog between the two protagonists in particular raises fundamental questions about the role of art in everyday life and society.

With around 150 objects, multiples, readymades, drawings, notes and notations, films, photographs, and other documents, the exhibition unveils the fascinating cosmos of works by Beuys and Duchamp. With photographs by: Denise Bellon, Eliot Elisofon, Camillo Fischer, Alexander Liberman, Stefan Moses, Victor Obsatz, Angelika Platen, Man Ray, Henri-Pierre Roché, Reiner Ruthenbeck, Siegfried Sander, Peter Schata, John D. Schiff, Manfred Tischer, Lothar Wolleh, and Julian Wasser.

The exhibition is accompanied by a comprehensive, richly illustrated catalog (German/English).

The project is part of the anniversary year beuys 2021 in North Rhine-Westphalia; scholarly support is being provided by Antje von Graevenitz, Hans Dickel and Paul B. Franklin.

Curators: Magdalena Holzhey and Kornelia Röder in collaboration with Katharina Neuburger

Joseph Beuys, from: 3-Tonnen-Edition, 1973-1985, screen print, two-sided on PVC foil, Photo: Lothar Wolleh, Städtische Museen Heilbronn, Deposit Ernst Franz Vogelmann-Stiftung, Photo: Städtische Museen Heilbronn, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Lothar Wolleh Estate, Berlin
Joseph Beuys, from: 3-Tonnen-Edition, 1973-1985, screen print, two-sided on PVC foil, Photo: Lothar Wolleh, Städtische Museen Heilbronn, Deposit Ernst Franz Vogelmann-Stiftung, Photo: Städtische Museen Heilbronn, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Lothar Wolleh Estate, Berlin
Beuys & Duchamp, Exhibition view, © Association Marcel Duchamp, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Photo: Dirk Rose
Beuys & Duchamp, Exhibition view, © Association Marcel Duchamp, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Photo: Dirk Rose
Beuys & Duchamp, Exhibition view, © Association Marcel Duchamp, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Photo: Dirk Rose
Beuys & Duchamp, Exhibition view, © Association Marcel Duchamp, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Photo: Dirk Rose
Beuys & Duchamp, Exhibition view, © Association Marcel Duchamp, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Lothar Wolleh Estate, Berlin, Photo: Dirk Rose
Beuys & Duchamp, Exhibition view, © Association Marcel Duchamp, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Lothar Wolleh Estate, Berlin, Photo: Dirk Rose
Beuys & Duchamp, Exhibition view, © Association Marcel Duchamp, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Photo: Dirk Rose
Beuys & Duchamp, Exhibition view, © Association Marcel Duchamp, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Photo: Dirk Rose

Exhibitions currently on view

Laufende ausstellung

Beuys & Duchamp
Künstler der Zukunft VERLÄNGERT
Kaiser Wilhelm Museum

Die Hauptausstellung im Beuys-Jahr 2021 stellt zum ersten Mal das Werk von Joseph Beuys (1921–1986) dem Œuvre des französisch-amerikanischen Objektkünstlers und Wegbereiters der Konzeptkunst Marcel Duchamp (1887–1968) gegenüber. Beuys hat sich immer wieder auf das Werk seines „Herausforderers“ Duchamp bezogen, so 1964 in der berühmten Aktion Das Schweigen von Marcel Duchamp wird überbewertet. Duchamp, der ironische Skeptiker, Beuys, der gesellschaftsverändernde Visionär – obwohl die charismatischen Künstlerpersönlichkeiten quasi als Gegenspieler die Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts geprägt haben, reichen die Bezüge und Verbindungen zwischen ihnen viel tiefer und berühren sich bei aller Unterschiedlichkeit in einer Vielzahl von Aspekten. Das zukunftweisende Potenzial ihrer jeweils radikalen und interdisziplinären Strategien wird aus heutiger Sicht neu beleuchtet. Gerade im Dialog der beiden Protagonisten stellen sich grundsätzliche Fragen nach der Rolle der Kunst in Alltag und Gesellschaft.

Die Ausstellung fächert mit rund 150 Objekten, Multiples, Readymades, Zeichnungen, Notizen und Notationen, Filmen, Fotografien und weiteren Dokumenten den faszinierenden Werkkosmos von Beuys und Duchamp auf. Mit Fotografien von Denise Bellon, Eliot Elisofon, Camillo Fischer, Alexander Liberman, Stefan Moses, Victor Obsatz, Angelika Platen, Man Ray, Henri-Pierre Roché, Reiner Ruthenbeck, Siegfried Sander, Peter Schata, John D. Schiff, Manfred Tischer, Lothar Wolleh und Julian Wasser.

Zur Ausstellung ist ein umfassender, reich bebilderter Katalog erschienen (dt/engl).

Das Projekt ist Teil des Jubiläumsjahres beuys 2021 in Nordrhein-Westfalen und wird wissenschaftlich begleitet von Prof. Dr. Antje von Graevenitz, Prof. Dr. Hans Dickel und Dr. Paul B. Franklin.

Kuratorinnen: Dr. Magdalena Holzhey und Dr. Kornelia Röder in Zusammenarbeit mit Dr. Katharina Neuburger

Joseph Beuys, aus: 3-Tonnen-Edition, 1973-1985, Siebdruck beidseitig auf PVC-Folie, Foto: Lothar Wolleh, Städtische Museen Heilbronn, Depositum Ernst Franz Vogelmann-Stiftung, Foto: Städtische Museen Heilbronn, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Lothar Wolleh Estate, Berlin
Joseph Beuys, aus: 3-Tonnen-Edition, 1973-1985, Siebdruck beidseitig auf PVC-Folie, Foto: Lothar Wolleh, Städtische Museen Heilbronn, Depositum Ernst Franz Vogelmann-Stiftung, Foto: Städtische Museen Heilbronn, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Lothar Wolleh Estate, Berlin
Beuys & Duchamp, Ausstellungsansicht, © Association Marcel Duchamp, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Foto: Dirk Rose
Beuys & Duchamp, Ausstellungsansicht, © Association Marcel Duchamp, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Foto: Dirk Rose
Beuys & Duchamp, Ausstellungsansicht, © Association Marcel Duchamp, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Foto: Dirk Rose
Beuys & Duchamp, Ausstellungsansicht, © Association Marcel Duchamp, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Foto: Dirk Rose
Beuys & Duchamp, Ausstellungsansicht, © Association Marcel Duchamp, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Lothar Wolleh Estate, Berlin,  Foto: Dirk Rose
Beuys & Duchamp, Ausstellungsansicht, © Association Marcel Duchamp, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Lothar Wolleh Estate, Berlin, Foto: Dirk Rose
Beuys & Duchamp, Ausstellungsansicht, © Association Marcel Duchamp, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Foto: Dirk Rose
Beuys & Duchamp, Ausstellungsansicht, © Association Marcel Duchamp, ADAGP, Paris / VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2021, Foto: Dirk Rose

laufende Ausstellungen