Collection

From Art Nouveau to ZERO, from Claude Monet to Gerhard Richter – the collection of the Kunstmuseen Krefeld now encompasses circa 18,000 works from the Late Middle Ages to the present day and continues to grow.

highlights

Since its beginnings around 1900, contemporary art and design currents have always encountered each other afresh from differing perspectives in the Kunstmuseen Krefeld.

The historical heart of the collection is formed by the holdings of objects related to the Reform Movement and Art Nouveau, which brought art and everyday design closer together. Some of the exceptional highlights are the Werkbund collection founded by Karl Ernst Osthaus 1909, the German Museum for Art in Commerce and Industry in addition to numerous works by Peter Behrens, Henry van de Velde and Johan Thorn Prikker.

Examples of classic modern art are included with such important individual works as The Houses of Parliament in London (1904) by Claude Monet and Deluge (1912) by Vasily Kandinsky. Special focus is placed on the extensive groups of works by the Rhenish Expressionists and Constructivist artists like Piet Mondrian.

The composition of the collection after 1945 is closely linked to the progressive exhibition program of contemporary art that brought the relevant artistic movements of the post-war era to Krefeld, at first in Haus Lange since the early 1960s and from 1981 in Haus Esters as well. Alongside major collections of works by Yves Klein and Joseph Beuys, the collection juxtaposes central protagonists from the Rhenish art scene—from Gerhard Richter and Sigmar Polke to Katharina Fritsch, Thomas Schütte and Andreas Gursky—with international pioneers of contemporary art like Andy Warhol, Richard Serra, Jeff Wall, Kiki Smith, Allora & Calzadilla and Elmgreen & Dragset.

Wassily Kandinsky, Deluge I, 1912, Photo: Volker Döhne
Wassily Kandinsky, Deluge I, 1912, Photo: Volker Döhne
Andreas Gursky, Mülheim an der Ruhr, 1989, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019
Andreas Gursky, Mülheim an der Ruhr, 1989, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019
Josef Hoffmann, Carafe and Drinking Glasses out of the Series Var. B, around 1911, Photo: Volker Döhne
Josef Hoffmann, Carafe and Drinking Glasses out of the Series Var. B, around 1911, Photo: Volker Döhne
Claude Monet, Houses of Parliament in London, 1904, Photo: Volker Döhne
Claude Monet, Houses of Parliament in London, 1904, Photo: Volker Döhne
Yves Klein, Lecteur I.K.B. élégant, 1959, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019, Photo: Volker Döhne
Yves Klein, Lecteur I.K.B. élégant, 1959, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019, Photo: Volker Döhne
Peter Behrens, Allgemeine Elektricitäts Gesellschaft/A.E.G., 1907, Photo: Volker Döhne
Peter Behrens, Allgemeine Elektricitäts Gesellschaft/A.E.G., 1907, Photo: Volker Döhne

Currently on View

Works from our collection are currently on view in our Collection Presentation 1965 - 2017.

Currently on view are works from the following artists: Zvi Goldstein, Dan Graham, Andreas Gursky, Candida Höfer, Bethan Huws, Tracey Moffatt und Gary Hillberg, Richard Allen Morris, Sigmar Polke, Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa, Gerhard Richter, Thomas Ruff, Thomas Struth, Allan Uglow etc.

Research

The collection of the Kunstmuseen Krefeld is continuously studied and questioned based on ever-new perspectives by the museum’s staff as well as external scholars.

The wealth of the epochs and genres as well as the museum’s own eventful history offer multifaceted scholarly and educational possibilities. These include conservational work as well as art historical projects dedicated specifically to groups of works in the collection as well as research into the provenance of the museum’s holdings.

Provenance research generally characterises research on the origins of cultural goods. The investigation of the collection is of great importance for the Kunstmuseen Krefeld. The provenance of individual works is regularly carried out.

Provenienzforschung bezeichnet allgemein die Erforschung der Herkunft von kulturellen Gütern. Regelmäßig lassen die Kunstmuseen Krefeld die Provenienz einzelner Werke erforschen.

Conservation

The objective of conservation work is the care of the precious items in the collection and their preservation of behalf of future generations.

Actively tending to the material holdings represents an indispensable prerequisite for museum work as a whole. The daily challenges facing conservators in the field of modern art in particular rests in the almost infinitely large range of possible material combinations. The conservation work in the Kunstmuseen

Sammlung

Von Jugendstil bis ZERO, von Claude Monet bis Gerhard Richter – die Sammlung der Kunstmuseen Krefeld umfasst heute rund 18.000 Werke vom späten Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart und wächst kontinuierlich weiter.

highlights

Seit den Anfängen um 1900 begegnen sich in den Kunstmuseen Krefeld zeitgenössische Kunst und aktuelles Design unter wechselnden Perspektiven immer wieder neu.

Den historischen Kern bilden die Bestände der Reformbewegung und des Jugendstils, die Kunst und Alltagsgestaltung zusammenrücken ließen. Zu den einzigartigen Glanzpunkten gehört die von Karl Ernst Osthaus 1909 gegründete Werkbund-Sammlung, das „Deutsche Museum für Kunst in Handel und Gewerbe“ sowie Werkkomplexe von Peter Behrens, Henry van de Velde und Johan Thorn Prikker.

Die Klassische Moderne ist mit wichtigen Einzelwerken wie Das Parlamentsgebäude in London (1904) von Claude Monet oder Sintflut (1912) von Wassily Kandinsky vertreten. Besondere Schwerpunkte bilden das umfangreiche Konvolut der Rheinischen Expressionisten und die Gruppe konstruktivistischer Arbeiten unter anderem von Piet Mondrian.

Der Aufbau der Sammlung nach 1945 ist eng verknüpft mit dem zeitgenössischen, progressiven Ausstellungsprogramm, das ab den frühen 1960er Jahren im Haus Lange (und ab 1981 auch in Haus Esters) die relevanten Kunstströmungen der Nachkriegszeit nach Krefeld bringt. Neben bedeutenden Werkkomplexen von Yves Klein und Joseph Beuys stehen zentrale Protagonist*innen der rheinischen Kunstszene – von Gerhard Richter und Sigmar Polke über Katharina Fritsch und Thomas Schütte bis zu Andreas Gursky – wegweisenden internationalen Positionen wie Andy Warhol, Richard Serra, Jeff Wall, Kiki Smith, Allora & Calzadilla und Elmgreen & Dragset gegenüber.

Wassily Kandinsky, Sintflut I, 1912, Foto: Volker Döhne
Wassily Kandinsky, Sintflut I, 1912, Foto: Volker Döhne
Andreas Gursky, Mülheim an der Ruhr, 1989, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019
Andreas Gursky, Mülheim an der Ruhr, 1989, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019
Josef Hoffmann, Karaffe und Gläser aus der Serie Var. B, um 1911, Foto: Volker Döhne
Josef Hoffmann, Karaffe und Gläser aus der Serie Var. B, um 1911, Foto: Volker Döhne
Claude Monet, Das Parlamentsgebäude in London, 1904, Foto: Volker Döhne
Claude Monet, Das Parlamentsgebäude in London, 1904, Foto: Volker Döhne
Yves Klein, Lecteur I.K.B. élégant, 1959, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019, Foto: Volker Döhne
Yves Klein, Lecteur I.K.B. élégant, 1959, © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2019, Foto: Volker Döhne
Peter Behrens, Allgemeine Elektricitäts Gesellschaft/A.E.G., 1907, Foto: Volker Döhne
Peter Behrens, Allgemeine Elektricitäts Gesellschaft/A.E.G., 1907, Foto: Volker Döhne

Zurzeit ausgestellt

Werke aus der Sammlung sind zurzeit in unserer Reihe Sammlungssatelliten zu sehen.

Zurzeit ausgestellt sind Arbeiten von u.a. folgenden Künstlern: Vito Acconci, Josef Albers, Mamma Andersson, Lothar Baumgarten, Bernd und Hilla Becher, Christo, Jan Dibbets, Hein Engelskirchen, Andreas Gursky, Hans Haacke, Yves Klein, Jannis Koounellis, Robert Morris, Michael van Ofen, Dieter Roth, Thomas Ruff, Ulrich Rückriem, Michel Sauer, Martin Schwenk, Andreas Slominski, Heinrich Steinicke, Robert Voit, Christopher Williams, etc.

Forschung

Die wissenschaftliche Bearbeitung der Sammlung wie auch des umfangreichen Schriftarchivs zählt zu den Kernaufgaben des Museums.

Der Reichtum der Epochen und Gattungen und die wechselvolle Geschichte des Hauses bieten vielfältige Möglichkeiten für Forschungsprojekte. Regelmäßig werden Sammlungskonvolute, darunter auch Künstlernachlässe, kunsthistorisch aufgearbeitet und einzelne Aspekte der Museums- und Sammlungsgeschichte neu beleuchtet.

Auch die Provenienzforschung ist von zentraler Bedeutung für die wissenschaftliche Untersuchung der Sammlung

Provenienzforschung bezeichnet allgemein die Erforschung der Herkunft von kulturellen Gütern. Regelmäßig lassen die Kunstmuseen Krefeld die Provenienz einzelner Werke erforschen.

Restaurierung

Ziel der restauratorischen Arbeit ist es, die wertvollen Objekte der Sammlung für zukünftige Generationen zu bewahren.

Die aktive Pflege des materiellen Bestandes stellt eine unverzichtbare Voraussetzung für die Museumsarbeit im Ganzen dar. Die tägliche Herausforderung für die Restaurator*innen besteht gerade im Bereich der modernen Kunst in der schier unendlichen Vielfalt von Materialkombinationen. Die konservatorische Arbeit der Kunstmuseen Krefeld findet im Austausch mit einem internationalen Netzwerk von Restaurator*innen statt.