Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa
Comb Bound Sound, 2017 (detail)
fabric, metal, glass, polyurethane, cables, speaker, MP3 player
6 room dividers each 220 x 80 cm
table 120 x 100 x 100 cm
glass sculpture 66 x 33 x 38 cm
Courtesy the artist
Photo: Volker Döhne
© Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa, 2017

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa
Liquid Coral, 2017
installation view
fabric, metal, glass
12 room dividers each 220 x 80 cm
chair 100 x 40 x 45 cm
glass sculpture 37 x 23 x 14,5 cm
Courtesy the artist
Photo: Volker Döhne
© Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa, 2017


19 FEBRUARY – 27 AUGUST 2017

The sixteenth recipient of the Mies van der Rohe award is the young Guatemalan artist Naufus Ramírez-Figueroa (*1978 in Guatemala City). With his first solo show in a German institute, here at Museum Haus Esters, he delivers new impulses to the tradition of the site-specific installation that has brought international acclaim to the Mies van der Rohe houses since the 1960s.

In the exhibition Two Flamingos Copulating on a Tin Roof the artist amalgamates elements from popular European beliefs, theories of holistic medicine, and natural phenomena to produce a fictional story that takes place in the rooms of Haus Esters. With that the visitors are plunged with all their senses into a colored scenario that recalls domestic care and the physicality that goes with it. Using sculptures in a variety of materials, together with everyday objects Ramírez-Figueroa plays with our perceptions until no more boundaries are distinguishable between dream and reality.

Naufus Ramírez-Figueroas artistic approach is rather personal and political. Identity, Body, the history of culture and architecture are essential to the so called transcultural artist. He enlists popular practices from South American folklore, mythology and magic but also questions a universal, globalized high culture. His installations express his very own stagy narrative.

The Mies van der Rohe Award from the City of Krefeld was inaugurated in 1979 to support young, promising artists, and has already been presented to among others Juan Muńoz, Stan Douglas, and Dominique Gonzales-Foerster. The proposal committee for this year’s award consisted of Jessica Morgan (Dia Art Foundation, New York), Laurence Sillars (Baltic Center for Contemporary Art, Gateshead) and Nicolaus Schafhausen (Kunsthalle Wien). The decision for the sixteenth winner of the award was reached by the jury consisting of Katia Baudin (Kunstmuseen Krefeld), Bart de Baere (Museum van Hedendaagse Kunst, Antwerp), Helen Hirsch (Kunstmuseum Thun), Dr Sylvia Martin (Kunstmuseen Krefeld) and Holger Otten (Ludwig Forum, Aachen). The exhibition will be accompanied by a publication.

The exhibition will be accompanied by a catalogue.
Guest Curator: Dorothee Mosters

Sponsored by